Play online with dialup?

FatBurger

Illustrious
Well, I recently started playing Tribes 2 online with my screaming 56k connection. Surprisingly, it has almost no lag. Pings of 130 and up.

What other games are playable with a dialup connection, while I wait until I can get DSL/cable?

<font color=green>They may take our lives, but they will never take our freedom!</font color=green>

CALV

Distinguished
May 17, 2001
it depends, I only got cable a few weeks ago, used to play Q2, UT, Counterstrike online, it depends a lot on your modem (really!!!!), your isp, and of course the server you connect to, My little counterstrike server for eg, if I connect to it via modem on other system, I pping about 130 ish, but other modem users range from 130 to 300+++, best to try and find a local server. Also depends on how busy the network traffic is at the time. On a modem when gaming, disable all background stuff that uses/monitors the net, such as any chat windows, icq etc- they dont hog much bandwith, but every bit counts when on a dialup.

Next time you wave - use all your fingers

WiseGuy1

Distinguished
Aug 30, 2001
Until recently I played Total Annihilation quite a bit. It ran pretty good on a 56k, which is what I have as well. You just have to keep the unit counts down and I guess you have to be willing to play a game that old. I'm a little behind the times I guess. Haven't even tried TA Kingdoms yet.

G

130 ping???? do you see that ping when you join server?
or do you press ESC and look at your ping? cuz I get 140 when I see the server list, but then it goes up to 230...it's not bad though, I don't get lag. I have a kick ass modem(USRobotics hardware Perofrmance Pro) that gives a connection of 38,666 with a line that Earthlink says can only 28.8 and the actualy bandwith is 36Kbps!! I'm also waiting for a reply from www.usr.com about the GAMING feature that increases upload with my modem....