Upgrade old HP m780n HTPC for HD

jey1234

Distinguished
Dec 18, 2010
I've been using my old HP m7680n as a HTPC (XBMC) for two years now and it works fine. However, I'd like to start adding 1080p blu ray rips to my collection and the computer seems to have trouble playing HD content. I've done upgraded the HDD, RAM and the GPU since I've bought it.

Specs:
CPU: Core 2 Duo E6400 2.13 GHz
Mobo: ASUS P5BW-LA
Memory: 4GB 533 MHz
GPU: ATI 2600 XT

If I could spend less than $150 to upgrade this for 1080p movies (no gaming), I'd love to not have to build a new PC. Should I upgrade the CPU? The Intel Core 2 Duo E6850 looks good but I'm not sure if it's compatible. Perhaps the memory is too slow? Or should I just build a new HTPC? Thanks.

(http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?docname=c00739902&tmp_task=prodinfoCategory&cc=us&dlc=en&lc=en&product=3230688)

Solution
Win7 has a nice performance debugging tool. you said "I'm running XBMC on Win7 x64". Neat, i thought xmbc was only linux. So we can use win7 performance tools.

Launch 'Resource Monitor' either by typing it in the start menu search box (don't hit enter) then click resource monitor when it finds it or by launching task manager, going to the performance tab then clicking resource monitor button near the bottom.

Let resource monitor run in the background. Wait til things get bad then use the windows key to see whats going on. Start with the overview tab. Is CPU at or near 100% (or >50%, see note below)? Look at the response time for disk -- is it heavy double digit milisecs? Verify hard disk faults are not a problem. One of...
That PC should not be having any trouble with 1080p movies.

Can you describe the problems you are seeing? " ..trouble playing HD content... " could mean stutters, or video artifacts or not playing at all.

That video card is digital copy protect compliant -- what is your output device? HDMI/DVI or older analog ?