First Build - Many Newbish Questions

Stormbane

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2012
Prepare for lots of reading.
I, like many others here it seems, am building a computer for the first time. I have quite a few questions because I literally cannot afford to make any mistakes. I'd like to keep it under about $800 if at all possible. I lost about 75% of my student aid for this next year of college so I'm running a little low on funds. I'm going to be a computer science major, but I'm still very new to computer hardware. I'd also like to order parts as soon as possible because school will be starting back up soon. I originally wanted to get the stuff for myself for Christmas but that obviously didn't happen.
This computer will be used for gaming, light video editing, programming, internet browsing, standard school stuff (Microsoft Word, Excel, etc), and possible 3D modeling. Pretty much the only computer I'll be using for as long as possible. Also I may do a bit of overclocking, but nothing major.
Games to be played include, but are by no means limited to, Skyrim, Minecraft, Team Fortress 2, DotA 2, Torchlight 2, Garry's Mod, and The Elder Scrolls Online (if it's free-to-play). I don't have the money to get into WoW, so that's probably out of the equation.
Here's an incomplete list of parts I'm looking at. I feel like I will need to make a lot of sacrifices here...good news is I haven't ordered anything yet.
Note none of these parts are permanent - I am open to better and/or cheaper (while still reliable) suggestions:
CPU: Intel i5-3750k - $219.99 (Amazon)
Motherboard: Cheaper suggestions are welcome, but I don't want to sacrifice too much quality.
Asus P8Z77-V (possibly LK) - $179.99 or $119.99 for LK (NCIX) Asus will probably be too expensive for me, anyway...
ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - $134.99 (OutletPC)
RAM: G.Skill Ripjaw seems to be a popular choice. I'd like at least 8GB. - Prices vary
Storage: Western Digital Caviar Black 7200rpm - $89.99 (Amazon)