Xbmc htpc suggestions

xsamdagreatx

Honorable
Dec 29, 2012
i am trying to order parts to build a budget htpc running xbmc to stream movies from instead of an apple tv or google tv. i would like some suggestions on what kind of parts would suite me and also if anybody had built one in the past and is willing to share. :)

Solution
I have no experience with UBid, so I won't comment on them. Looking at the two units from Newegg, the second one (ThinkCenter M57) with an added single slot, low-profile graphics card should be plenty for your needs, but I do have some reservations.

Under no circumstance should you purchase the ThinkCenter M52 you linked. Single core and an AGP graphics card slot.

The ThinkCenter M57 is the better choice (dual-core), but my concern would be the location of the hard drive in relation to where the graphics card would be installed. Add in a low-profile ready card with a cooling fan to at least get some air movement underneath the hard drive.

-Wolf sends
I repurposed an old Dual Core Intel PC, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, ASUS GeForce 210 Silent as an HTPC running WMC. I have an eSata 1TB external HDD for recording.

For a tuner, I chose the SiliconDust HDHomerun Prime. Using an XBox360 as an extender. The other two PC's on the network also access the HDHomerun Prime.

I can watch/record up to 3 programs at the same time on the HTPC and XBox360.

What source(s) will you be streaming from? Live TV? DVD/BluRay? Extenders/DLNA?

xsamdagreatx

Honorable
Dec 29, 2012
that actually a really good idea. mostly i will be streaming from live tv , dlna, and mostly just streaming Netflix and such . i am not a big fan of apple tv and such devices as they are expensive for their limited functionality. so i will be considering an old computer and upgrading it with a low graphic car. and i will be getting this tv tuner thanks for the suggestion the specs are amazin!

Wolfshadw

Titan