Sign in with
Your question

Got a IVB i7 for xmas, time for a new build

Last response: in Systems
January 2, 2013 9:56:40 PM

I got an Ivy Bridge i7-3770K for Christmas and would like to build a new mid-range gaming box off of it. any input is appreciated as this is my first build. Here is a list of components that I've compiled from various builds found around the internet:

PCPartPicker part list: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/vy0O
Price breakdown by merchant: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/vy0O/by_merchant/
Benchmarks: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/vy0O/benchmarks/

CPU: Intel Core i7-3770K 3.5GHz Quad-Core Processor (-)
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus 76.8 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler ($24.98 @ Amazon)
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-Z77-D3H ATX LGA1155 Motherboard ($109.99 @ Microcenter)
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($45.99 @ Newegg)
Storage: Seagate Barracuda 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($69.98 @ Outlet PC)
Video Card: MSI GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GB Video Card ($287.99 @ Microcenter)
Case: Antec Three Hundred Illusion ATX Mid Tower Case ($49.99 @ Newegg)
Power Supply: Corsair Enthusiast 650W 80 PLUS Bronze Certified ATX12V / EPS12V Power Supply ($79.99 @ Newegg)
Total: $668.91
(Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)
(Generated by PCPartPicker 2013-01-02 18:33 EST-0500)

Will be running Win8 and I already have a monitor/keyboard/mouse.

I'm mostly wondering if I'm going overboard on some parts (minus the i7 because I know that is more power than I'll probably ever use), or if I need to add some juice to other areas (RAM/video card) so they will keep up with the rest of the machine.

I also have a 240G 520 series Intel SSD available to me for ~$145. Is it worth throwing that in or are there other SSDs I should look at?

Thanks in advance!

More about : ivb xmas time build

January 2, 2013 10:00:58 PM

everything looks pretty good. you could also consider a 7950 instead of the 660ti but that's up to you.