Need help selecting a video card for my build

Status
Not open for further replies.

scott81425

Honorable
Nov 18, 2012
Hello all- and good day!

I am seeking advice picking out a budget friendly video card for my boy's PC build. Here are what we currently have-

Mobo- Arock 970 extreme 3
CPU- Athlon FX 6100
16 GB G Skill DDR3
600 Watt Ultra PS
1 TB WD black HDD
ASUS Blu Ray burner
In an Antec 300 Case

Now I am looking for the final two pieces of the puzzle. A video card, and windows. I've given up hope on finding a deal on windows, it is what it is. But I'd like to find a decent video card, more importantly at a decent price. I was looking at the 7770, 6850, 550 ti. Will those work with my MOBO? This is my first build, BTW. Also, this is probably a really silly question, but are all the 6850 cards the same? Or is there a difference between one brand vs another.

Lastly, the purpose of the computer will be for school work. And moderate gaming. I wish it was only for school work, but that wouldn't be the "cool" thing to use it for. And maybe even some HTPC usage. Thanks for any help.

Solution
School work.. we all know that what's gaming called :).

HD 7770 would probably be the best deal for you out of those three cards. I haven't heard of this 'Ultra' PSU manufacturer, so before buying the card make sure it has one 6-pin power connector to power up the card.

Also, you didn't tell your budget, so I cannot really recommend anything else.
School work.. we all know that what's gaming called :).

HD 7770 would probably be the best deal for you out of those three cards. I haven't heard of this 'Ultra' PSU manufacturer, so before buying the card make sure it has one 6-pin power connector to power up the card.

Also, you didn't tell your budget, so I cannot really recommend anything else.

Solution

scott81425

Honorable
Nov 18, 2012