Internet Randomly Disconnects

dboisvert

Distinguished
Dec 25, 2011
The internet seems to be randomly disconnecting. Here is all of the information that I have to help diagnose the problem.

3 Computers on the network that are both wired and wireless. They all lose connection at the same time and this didn't happen 4 months ago (I am a college student home for break). Called Comcast to have them run a line test and see if they had any outages. They said everything was fine on their end and they have not had any outages recently. Bought a new modem and router(ZOOM 5350) to replace the old one (MOTOROLA SBG901) and the problem is still occurring. When the connection goes out I am still able to login to the router via the web browser and when I check the signal levels everything is WELL withing the recommended settings. Their is a cable splitter that splits the main line ONCE and then it goes directly to the cable modem. This splitter is a 5-1000mhz splitter which is what is required for Comcast.

Based on the above information I don't think that it's any of the computers or the modem/router setup. I also don't believe it could be the splitter. I am going to get ahold of comcast and schedule an appointment but I wanted to get some feedback to see if I could be overlooking something.

as a bonus here is the IPCONFIG /all output (its the same when the internet goes out)

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Dan-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 1C-4B-D6-F8-80-3A
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.13(Preferred)