Sign in with
Your question

Upcoming build check and advice.

Last response: in Systems
January 4, 2013 2:06:34 AM

Hey, I'm a first time builder, and I intend on buys my parts within the next week. I've posted here before about this build, but I've changed my mind on a few things since then and extended my budget a bit, so I think I'll post again so you guys can have a look seeing as it's a big spend for me so I want to be on the safe side. This will all be used with a 23" Acer monitor, too.

CPU: Intel i5 3570k
Motherboard: MSI Z77A-G43 Intel Z77 Socket 1155 Ivybridge Ready Motherboard
Memory: Corsair Memory Vengeance Jet Black Low Profile 8GB DDR3 1600 MHz CAS 9 XMP Dual Channel Desktop
Case: NZXT Phantom 410 (black)
GPU: XFX HD7950 Double D AMD/ATI Graphics Card - 3GB
HDD: Seagate 1TB SATA 3 Performance Hard Drive OEM ST1000DM003
PSU: Corsair Enthusiast Series TX550M Modular, 80 PLUS Bronze, 85% Eff', SLI/CrossFire, EPS 12V

I haven't included an after market cooler for the cpu, but it's something I intend on getting later on, once I've had a proper look at overclocking and the likes. I know a lot of this is pretty safe stuff, but I'd just like any feedback possible from you guys, because I'd much rather catch any problems now, before I wage war on my bank account! Also, if you could just take a look at the motherboard and let me know if it's alright/if it's missing anything, that'd be great. Also, just to note, I'm in Ireland and will be buying off Amazon.co.uk and Scan.co.uk

Thanks very much in advance.
January 4, 2013 2:35:22 AM

I've heard bad things about the TX550M - if you get a Corsair you might want to pay a bit more and get the TX650 V2.
January 4, 2013 2:36:05 AM

I will have to change that mobo to an asrock z77 extreme 4. I think MSI had bad rep regarding mobos. And the asrock mobo is recommended especially for OC. Also if you could check some sapphire cards/asus cards instead of the xfx, it would be better.
Related resources