Genius Computer Gnomes, UNITE!

RMassoudi

Distinguished
Apr 15, 2011
Hello folks,

I'm in the market to throw together a new machine for my office. I'm a shitty structural engineer and an even worse architect, but I'll need to impress my poor clients with fancy renderings - so design me a rig worthy of gaming. Budget, including a monitor (19" or larger), but not mouse and keyboard is around $1300. My budget is flexible, but I want the best bang for my buck in this range. Care to help me?

Thanks,
Rod

Solution
So are you actually going to be using this machine for any real work or is just going to be a display piece?

EDIT:
PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: Intel Core i7-3770K 3.5GHz Quad-Core Processor ($229.99 @ Microcenter)
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO 82.9 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler ($29.98 @ Amazon)
Motherboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4 ATX LGA1155 Motherboard ($127.99 @ Amazon)
Memory: G.Skill Ares Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($80.99 @ Newegg)
Storage: Seagate Barracuda 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($69.99 @ NCIX US)
Video Card: Sapphire Radeon HD...

RMassoudi

Distinguished
Apr 15, 2011
Thanks. Didn't realize things have changed...

Approximate Purchase Date: Next week (to allow some time to shop around for products)
Budget Range: $1300 +/-. Rebates and avoiding paying sales tax are nice though.
System Usage from Most to Least Important: CAD programs, Renderings, gaming. Is there a difference in build between these three options?
Are you buying a monitor: Yes
Parts to Upgrade: Everything. Brand new tower, new mouse, new keyboard, new monitor.
Do you need to buy OS: Yes
Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Any website that you'd buy from.
Location: City, State/Region, Country - San Francisco, CA, USA
Parts Preferences: Up to you.
Overclocking: Yes
SLI or Crossfire: Maybe, if it's worth it.