Sign in with
Your question
Solved

ASUS K73S

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
November 23, 2012 10:46:22 AM

Hello,

I currently own an ASUS K73S. Everything works awesome, except for the graphics card. Seeing as this is my only computer, I'd like to play games on it too. I downloaded Planetside 2, but even on the lowest graphic settings, I get 20FPS out of my machine, tops.

The current GPU I have is apparently 'Intel(R) HD Graphics 3000', which just doesn't cut it for me.

Can I change my GPU? If so, which one do you propose?
A few things to mind: I'm a poor student and I know only a little about computers.

Thanks!
Sean

More about : asus k73s

a b U Graphics card
a b Ĉ ASUS
November 23, 2012 11:38:22 AM

In general laptops have limited opportunities to be upgraded. You can up the RAM or change the HDD, and not much beyond that. Specifically the GPU in all but a select few laptops is integrated into the system and cannot be replaced. Unlike a traditional desktop there is no provision to add a video card to a typical laptop.
a c 110 U Graphics card
November 23, 2012 11:49:46 AM

That asus doesn't have a GT540M nvidia gpu ?
Related resources
November 23, 2012 12:02:05 PM

SchizTech said:
In general laptops have limited opportunities to be upgraded. You can up the RAM or change the HDD, and not much beyond that. Specifically the GPU in all but a select few laptops is integrated into the system and cannot be replaced. Unlike a traditional desktop there is no provision to add a video card to a typical laptop.

In general, yeah. I'm not sure if mine falls under the NOPE-category, and I sure as hell don't know enough about hardware to find out for myself..

djangoringo said:
That asus doesn't have a GT540M nvidia gpu ?

Well the little sticker on my laptop says that (just noticed that), but when I check in Device Manager, it says that it's an Intel(R) HD 3000.

Best solution

a c 110 U Graphics card
November 23, 2012 12:08:24 PM