Sign in with
Your question

Building new PC, thoughts?

Last response: in Systems
January 9, 2013 4:57:06 AM

I'm in the market for a new PC. Going to have some downtime soon, so it's as good a time as any. I'm looking pretty high end. Budget for this is going to be $1500-1800ish without the OS/Monitor/etc. I'm intending for it to be for both games and other software. I'll admit I'm still pretty ignorant about a lot of this, so I'm flexible. I do have some experience doing to the physical building part (built my last PC). I do plan on overclocking, but that is something I have no experience with, so I'll probably wait on that for now. Anyway, parts.

Intel i7-3770k
ASUS P8Z77-V PRO
G.SKILL Ares Series 16GB (2 x 8GB)
Galaxy 670 4gb
SAMSUNG 840 Pro 128gb
WD Black 2gb
Rosewill Thor Full Tower
Corsair HX850
No Idea what cpu cooler or optical drive I want.

A few quick notes/questions: This will be running on a 1920x1200 set up for now. I say for now in that I may be looking at either going to 1440 or 1600, but that wont happen for some time.

Most people seem to agree that 4gb vram is wasteful. But, for instance, I play Bethesda games in a heavily modded state (my current set-up, which isn't particularly stable (playable-ish) on my system, has 100ish esp active. And that is after cutting out 80 or so and not including any visual enhancements. I also figure I'll eventually run this in SLI when I can pick up another gpu for cheaper and at that point would probably be running a higher resolution/multiple screens.

Are there any significant benefits to upgrading to windows 8? I'm planning on bringing 7 from my last PC at the moment.

If there are areas where I can go cheaper with little loss I'm open, or slightly more expensive for better performance (to a degree).

More about : building thoughts

January 9, 2013 6:41:11 AM