System power for new GPU

LMAC89

Honorable
Nov 26, 2012
Just to say, hi all. First post on here, I'm a noob when it comes to the building of computers even though i've done a bit of reading. Right; details:

AMD
Athlon 64 FX
4.4 Ghz Processor
Socket AM3
Quad Core Bulldozer CPU

8GB RAM
DDR3 SDRAM

Current GPU: ATI RADEON HD 2GB 6670 HDMI , VGA, DVI

These were copied directly from the website i purchased from:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B007SNNLQC/ref=cm_cr_rev_prod_title

My issue is; games such as Skyrim, Day Z etc when run at higher settings tend to lose FPS and become slightly jittery so I always lower the settings to 'low', so that i can play as smoothly as possible. I play in 1920x1080, and in this resolution, games always seem to be a problem when i'd like to play with the better settings.

Which leads me to assuming I need to buy a more capable graphics card; which I am fine with doing and willing to spend at a maximum of £300. My only worry is that the power supply on the desktop is 500W...

Thus if I were to upgrade my GPU to a more recent one would the power of desktop be able to cope with it?

As a result of this question, I have not looked specifically into any particular GPUs incase I would need to increase the power first. If this is not the case, feel to suggest potential GPU candidates :)

Thanks in advance for any of you that can offer advice.

LMAC89

Honorable
Nov 26, 2012
I assume i'd only be able to find out if my CPU will bottleneck it if I get the GPU. Which is a bit annoying if that is the case.

MC_K7

Distinguished