Advice on video card for new system.

I am planning on building a new computer as I am still using my old Celeron 300A and BH6. One thing I would like to be able to do is edit video from my mini-DV camcorder and burn to video CD and DVD in future. Is it better to go with the Radeon 8500DV or with GeForce 2 or 3 and separate firewire capture card? How many fps do you need to get high quality video? According to ATI, the Radeon captures 30fps, while some separate cards will do 60fps.I admit I am a total newbie to digital editing so any suggestions are appreciated. Quality and stability are key. My current plan for the rest of the system follows:

ABIT KR7A-RAID (may consider similar ASUS or MSI for USB 2.0)
Athlon XP 1700+ or 1800+
512MB Corsair CAS 222
2 X Maxtor 40GB 7200 RPM ATA133 (in RAID 0)
Plextor CDRW (16 or 24X)
Soundblaster Live Value (from old PC)
Either Lian-Li PC-60USB or my old PCNut Case (mid tower ATX)
Either Sparkle/Enermax 350W or greater power supply.

Thanks in advance for you suggestions on video cards or planned system.
5 answers Last reply
More about advice video card system
  1. First I recommend not to get a Display card integrated with a capture card (like you don't buy a PCChips integrated main board)

you have a MiniDV camera and it's a big bonus. you can use a 25$ fire wire card to capture and export your material.

If you are in the NTSC world then for high quality capture you need 30FPS. (29.97). Any reason for 60FPS will be with Analog capture devices in order to get over a problem calld AntiAlising. This is not a Issue with digital cameras.
  2. Quote:

First I recommend not to get a Display card integrated with a capture card (like you don't buy a PCChips integrated main board