Sign in with
Your question

PC freezing while playing games

Last response: in Systems
January 12, 2013 1:01:54 PM

Hello,

I've had my current PC for over a year now and it has been running with no problems until yesterday. While re-plugging my keyboard i accidentally pressed the Clr-CMOS button and i wasn't able to boot up, everything was working, all the fans and everything, but i wasn't able to go to the boot screen or load up my windows. I'm not very technical at this sort of stuff so i sent my pc to a friend who sorted things out for me and was now able to boot up, but now I'm getting a very frustrating error; every game i play freezes my computer solid after 5 - 15 mins of gameplay and the only option left is to restart my pc. I go back to my friends house and my pc works there just fine, then i return home and bam, same freeze.

I noticed that he had a smaller monitor with a smaller res than mine so after i switch my res from 1920x1080 to something like 1024 x 768 and play for a while nothing happens, the game runs fine and everything's ok, but when i switch back to my older res and play for 15 mins it starts freezing again and i have to restart.

I ran GPU-Z and noticed nothing out of the ordinary after the crash, all the temps seem normal and same goes to the voltage.

As said before, i never had any problems with my PC up until that Clr-CMOS incident. Any help?

My setup:

Radeon 6970 MSI Lightning
Intel i7 2600K @ 3.40GHz with custom Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus cooler
12GB RAM
Asrock Z68 Professional Gen3 Motherboard
H.E.C PSU 600W

More about : freezing playing games

a b B Homebuilt system
January 12, 2013 6:11:53 PM

You PC shouldn't have issues running at 1080p. Resetting your cmos shouldn't affect your gaming either. Is it just a freeze or does anything else happen like it loops audio, monitor goes black, artifacting, jagged lines across screen, random beeps, louder fan noise?
m
l
Related resources
January 12, 2013 6:45:41 PM

crewton said: