Seeking advice on first time Hackintosh build

cseshag

Honorable
Jan 12, 2013
Hi everyone - I'm considering undertaking my first home built system, and I was hoping to get some advice from the wisdom of these boards.

Just to set the stage, for the past several years, I've been using a Mac Pro at work, and I really appreciated the power of the platform...I'm a research scientist, so I was doing some heavy computation and number crunching. I am now looking to upgrade my home setup where I have an iMac for my daily use and an older Windows box running a small home server setup.

I've decided I'd like to approximate some of the power of the Mac Pro and also potentially move some of the server duties to a VM running on the new machine. However, I'd like to avoid spending $2000+ on a Mac Pro, so I'm exploring the home build Hackintosh approach.

I've started to do some research, and I have some starting ideas on the hardware that I want to use, but I also have a few questions, and I was hoping to solicit some input from those who are much wiser and more experienced with this sort of thing :)...

First, here are my answers to the general new system questionnaire:

Approximate Purchase Date: Sometime in the next month or so

Budget Range: (e.g.: 600-800) I'd like to stay under $800 (after rebates), and of course, if I can do it cheaper that's the goal!

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Mac OS as host OS for primary usage - this includes websurfing, some media consumption (lots of music occasionally some video), occasional Adobe Illustrator and Photoshop usage, etc. In addition I was planning on keeping a Windows 7 VM running permanently to serve as a media server and also a host for a network printer/scanner. I will also have a Win 8 and maybe another Mac OS VM for doing some coding/development work (but this is basically hobby sort of usage)

Parts Not Required: Keyboard, mouse, monitors, speakers, NIC card