Sign in with
Your question

A bit worried about heat and noise. (GTX 670 FTW)

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
November 29, 2012 12:28:57 AM

Hello, I'm putting together my first pc and I'm torn between the EVGA GTX 670 ftw and the newer 670 ftw signature 2. I'm going with the ftw because I've been told that EVGA has by far the best customer support and reliability is a concern of mine.
Anyways, I'm asking to any who have the regular ftw, is it a very loud card when it's working under demanding games? I'm expecting some noise anyways, but would you all call it too noticeable? I have a Cooler Master HAF X case, if that makes any difference, and I do plan to try and overclock it after learning how.
a c 185 U Graphics card
November 29, 2012 12:32:22 AM

What are your temps ? Anyways yes it's loud that's why i did not buy it lol.
m
l
November 29, 2012 12:45:40 AM

bigcyco1 said:
What are your temps ? Anyways yes it's loud that's why i did not buy it lol.

I'm sorry, let me clarify. I haven't gotten the cards yet, though I've heard that the FTW can run 78c out of the box and requires tweaking the fan profile to get it under 60c which is what I'm told is the temperature you don't want to pass. A lot of the reviewers on Newegg point this out. I'm assuming my cooler master HAF X would make any possible noise barely noticeable, but if in your opinion a card that runs even a little over 60c on load isn't acceptable I'll opt for the signature 2 since it has a twin fan cooler design.
m
l
Related resources
a c 185 U Graphics card
November 29, 2012 12:48:44 AM

I think your case would keep temps under control but that's me guessing i don't want you to spend that kind of money on my guessing so wait for more replies please.
m
l
a c 185 U Graphics card
November 29, 2012 12:55:15 AM