Sign in with
Your question

The worst build nightmare of all time?

Last response: in Systems
January 14, 2013 4:39:30 AM

Just out of morbid curiosity, can anyone top the run of bad luck I had on my last build?

Before I begin, let me just say I’m not a professional system builder, but I do have a lot of experience. I’ve built about twenty machines, and 4 in the last year without any significant problems. So when amazon had a black Friday sale on SSDs ($299 for a 512gb vertex4) I grabbed two and decided it was time to upgrade my game machine. Little did I know the whole build was going to take 46 days.

Anyway here’s the list of components I went through:

• 5 motherboards
• 4 processors
• 7 ram kits
• 3 cases
• 2 power supplies
• 2 heat sinks
• 2 dvd rom drives

And here are the final specs:

• Core i7 3930k
• Cooler Master Hyper Evo 212 cpu cooler
• Asrock X79 Fatality Pro Motherboard
• 32 gb (4x8gb) DDR3 1866 (Mushkin redline)
• 2x OCZ vertex 4 512 ssd (not in a raid)
• FT02 case
• AX1200i PSU
• 2xGTX 580 geforce in sli (left over from my last game machine)
• X-fi titanium
• Sony slim line slot loading dvd drive

Here are the items that were verified as bad:

2x Asus P8Z77 mobos (bought from newegg)
1xRV02 case (bought from newegg)
2x32gb mushkin blackline ddr3 kits (bought from newegg)
2x32gb corsair vengeance dd3 kits (bought from fry’s)
1x32gb Patroit Intel Extreme Master dd3 kit (bought from fry’s)

And the components that were misrepresented from the seller:

1x Noctua NH-D14 (won't fit on a p8z77ws mobo, even though it is explicitly listed as so)
1x Toshiba slot loading dvd drive (doesn't list the drive interface, or show it in the pictures, not SATA)