System Build-Checking Configuration

bgoss4

Honorable
Dec 12, 2012
Hi everyone.

I've been meaning to build a (my first) fairly powerful rig for a while now, though being a Uni student this was financially beyond me. But I got some holiday work, and was given an older desktop from which I salvaged some parts and have decided to go ahead with the following build. Since this is my first attempt, I'm asking here to double check that everything I'm looking at won't blow up in my face when I put it all together. Here goes:

Case(Salvaged): Gigabyte GZ-X5BPD-400

PSU(Salvaged): GE-P450N-C2 550W (2x12V 18A Rails if I read it correctly)

HDD(Salvaged): Samsung, 500GB 7200RPM

MOBO: Asrock Z77-EXTREME4 Z77/4 x DDR3/2 x PCI-E3.0/4 x SATA3/6 x USB3.0/HDMI/D
http://www.umart.com.au/pro/products_review.phtml?id=10&bid=2&id2=177&sid=89527

GPU: Gigabyte OC 3GB 7970
http://www.umart.com.au/pro/products_listnew.phtml?id=10&id2=248&bid=2&sid=87011

CPU: i5-3570k

RAM: G Skill 8G(2x4G) DDR3 1600Mhz
http://www.umart.com.au/pro/products_review.phtml?id=10&bid=2&id2=153&sid=59837

Optical Drive(Salvaged): 2xDVD Reader Writer

Any feedback would be great. I intend to put in an SSD in probably 6-12 Months time, but right now I am mostly interested in game performance.

Thanks!

mikerockett

Distinguished
Jan 16, 2012
Are you over clocking?

If not then you dont need a k series CPU also could get an h77 mobo.

If you are then you will want a decent cooler like the hyper 212 evo.

Secondly i have to agree with EzioAs, don't rely on that PSU, get a new one and make sure its a good brand seasonic, xfx etc.

bgoss4

Honorable
Dec 12, 2012

Thanks for the feedback. I intend to overclock eventually, this build is intended to last for some years. But as I don't intend to do it now, I don't really want to invest in a better cooler just yet.