Sign in with
Your question

Java confusion

Last response: in Systems
January 14, 2013 7:54:36 AM

I don't usually ask any help on this forum but I've seen some posts on programming where this community helped each other out. So here I go, hoping the same.

First some of my background: I am a first year student. I have a course called Object-Oriented-Programming. At start I've been to every class. After 10 minutes of class I really didn't understand a lot of it. When we made exercises in class I just took some of the syntax of previous exercises we did and hoping it would work fine (which it rarely did). If the teacher asked me a question, I just didn't know.

After 6 weeks, missing a couple of lessons because I didn't understand anything and the teacher refused to give additional information, we had a test. At my surprise I didn't fail that hard (still did however). Which gave me some motivation so I returned to class. And there I was, still confused what he was saying. I decided to study it on my own with the course notes he gave us at the start of the year. I asked him on which book or whatever his course notes were based on and he said it weren't his but from a colleague, so yeah, besides his course notes I had nothing.

Now, 2 weeks later we had a project we had to make. We had to draw stuff with Java and make it interactive. The drawing stuff went okay-ish. But the interactive part was just a disaster. Resulting in a 0/5 for that task (I should have made someone else do this task so I had good grades like everyone else did but yeah, I'm too honest).