protomog

Honorable
Jan 14, 2013
Hello, folks at Tom's Hardware. I am planning on finally going through with my first build. Most my life, I've stuck with prebuilt for general usage and consoles for playing video games, but I would like to move onto PC gaming. I have some knowledge on how to put together the PC, but I'd like to see what you guys can say on it.

This is what I'm currently looking at:

http://pcpartpicker.com/p/xzvz

CPU: AMD FX-6300 3.5GHz 6-Core Processor
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3 ATX AM3+ Motherboard
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR3-1600 Memory
HDD: Seagate Barracuda 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive
GPU: Zotac GeForce GTX 670 2GB Video Card
Case: Corsair 200R ATX Mid Tower Case
PSU: Antec Neo Eco 520W 80 PLUS Certified ATX12V / EPS12V Power Supply
DVD Drive: Samsung SH-224BB/RSBS DVD/CD Writer

As for the general questions:

Approximate Purchase Date: End of this month (January)/Early February

Budget Range: ~$850, at the highest (with shipping and without rebates

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming, General Internet and Computer use.

Are you buying a monitor: No (I already have one)

Do you need to buy OS: No (I plan on using Linux and I have copies of Windows 7 and 8 from my University)

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: NewEgg, Amazon, but I am willing to work with other trusted sellers as these are the only two I really know of.

Location: Upper Peninsula, MI, USA. There isn't any place locally I could go to buy.

Parts Preferences: For the most part, none. I would like an AMD CPU due to future upgrades and possible overclocking in the future (if I get into it), but I don't care either way. I'd also prefer an NVIDIA card because I've heard they tend to do better on Linux than ATI.