Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Upgrade Help

Last response: in Systems
January 15, 2013 4:52:24 AM

Hello,

I was hoping someone out there may be able to give me some advice in regards to upgrading my current system. I am well due for an upgrade, here is my current set-up:

Gigabyte P31-DS3l (Mobo)
Core 2 Duo E6550 2.33GHz
4 GB DDR2 Ram
500W PSU
MSI Twin Frozr GTX 660
Windows 7 Ultimate

I have installed the GTX 660 in this system, but I know it is bottlenecked due to my CPU and current motherboard. I do a lot of gaming and video editing, but I have no knowledge of overclocking (however, I am in the process of learning). So, I'm curious what would be a good motherboard for my needs. I don't want to spend a fortune but I've been looking into the Sabertooth Z77 and the Z77X-UD5H from Gigabyte. I believe I would be able to use the i5-3570k with these boards as well, which is around the price I want to spend on the CPU.

For my needs do you think I would be wasting money on a Z77 board, and I should go with something cheaper, or are these boards a good combination with the i5-3570k? Also would a 500W PSU be able to run the new hardware or should I upgrade this as well? Nvidia states that for the GTX 660 a 450W minimum PSU should be used, but MSI states I should be using a minimum of 550W; however, it has been running without any problems as of now. I have been noticing a lot of fps drops and stuttering especially when playing Far Cry 3. So, I'm simply wanting to make everything run smoothly for the lowest price; yet have good quality with the possibility to overclock once I have a better understanding of the process.

I appreciate any feedback. This will be my first build without the help of a shop, so any information would be greatly appreciated.

More about : upgrade

Best solution

a b B Homebuilt system
January 15, 2013 5:07:51 AM