Sign in with
Your question

List+cooling+advice...GO

Last response: in Systems
January 16, 2013 6:16:51 AM

Hello Tom's Community, this is my 2nd thread for a 2nd build as a friend of mine bought my 3 months old comp for same purchase price :bounce: 

My urge for the sell was mainly the switch to M-ITX form factor, so here it goes:

PSU: Corsair AX 860i
Cooler: Corsair H80i
CPU: Intel i5-3570k
Mobo: ASUS P8Z77-I
GPU: Geforce GTX 690
Monitor: ASUS VG278H
Case: Prodigy
RAM: TridentX 2.4Ghz 2x8gb
HDD: WD Velociraptor 1TB
SSD: OCZ Vector 128GB
Storage: WD black 4TB
F-Fan: Spectre pro 230mm
T-Fan: Spectre pro 120mm

Surfing, Heavy Gaming, Programming & Encoding.
OC whatever that can be OC'd
Might postpone & switch to Haswell Mobo+Proc when the time comes But build will stay the same.
Water cooling is a future project of mine as I'm still learning about it everyday.
One of my concerns is ventilation regarding high exhausts with a mere 230mm 900rpm intake in such a small case.
Your Advice/Recommendation regarding this build will be appreciated. Keep it clean, simple & constructive please.

More about : list cooling advice

January 16, 2013 12:17:35 PM

What is your overall budget? IMO you're making some poor choices here.

- You don't need anywhere ever close to an 860W PSU. Maybe 650W, maybe 750W to be 1000% safe. Get the AX 760 if you want to spend the money.

- Don't get the closed-loop water cooler. Air cooling has similar performance for a much lower price: http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/h100i-elc240-seidon...

- Don't bother with fast RAM, the performance gains are not worth it. Get 1600 mhz RAM and it'll be more than enough.

- Speaking of RAM, 8GB is plenty for your needs.

- Which SSD precisely are you getting? Vertex 4 I believe is good, but I have heard of problems with Vertex 3 IIRC.

- Don't bother getting the Velociraptor HDD, it's a waste of money. You'll never notice a performance difference and you have an SSD for boot anyway.