Sign in with
Your question
Solved

1st Build 1st Question

Last response: in Systems
January 16, 2013 2:17:08 PM

I am watching vids for tips. I still have a couple of grey areas. The chassis fans have mod plugs and molex. I am able to daisy all 4 w/molex. My chassis has a 3 speed control switch but I was hoping to take advantage of maybe a software for temp related/auto fan speed reg via mobo cfan terminal which my asus P8Z77-V LK mobo has only one of. I was a nuke electrician so I am not totally in the dark. Many thanks for any help with my question.

More about : 1st build 1st question

January 16, 2013 2:23:39 PM

If you want the mobo to control the case fan speeds you will need either a 3 or 4 pin fan header (depending on the mobo connections). Molex will be used either directly with the psu (run at 100% constantly) or through a fan controller (you set the speed manually).
m
l
January 16, 2013 2:24:33 PM

if you use the molex they will not be able to monitor temps, or adjust speed without a fan controller. (but youre case has one)
if you plug into the mobo then you could use software to montior the temps and control the speed of the fan/noise.

fan controllers come in all shapes, sizes and colors
http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.aspx?Submit=E...

one like this you could monitor rps's of all youre fans with a fancy lcd display, and allows you to save settings so you dont have to redo it every time you turn on youre pc
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...
m
l
Related resources
January 16, 2013 2:25:43 PM

well with molex fans you can control the speeds by buying a molex fan controller that will take up one of your case expansion slots below the mobo's backplate
you cant control molex fans with software as they are just connected to power..with 3 pin fans you would connect them to your mobo's fan headers and you can control the fans speeds either in bios or by some software in windows such as speedfan program
m
l

Best solution