I7-2600k CPU w/ PCI-E 2.0 mobo slot & PCI-E 3.0 GPU compatibility

broman

Honorable
Dec 2, 2012
Hello everyone,

I'm new to this forum and I have some questions I'm hoping you guys can help me with for my first personal multi purpose computer build. I'm familiar with basic essentials, but I'm no expert by any means.

Firstly I guess I'll come right out and ask it, will I be able to use these three parts together in harmony without any major foul ups?

Sandy Bridge i7-2600k CPU

Asus Maximus IV Extreme-Z Motherboard (LGA-1158 socket & 2.0 PCI-E expansion slot)

Radeon HD 7870GHz Ready Crossfire X 3.0 PCI-E 3.0 GPU

I've read a few articles online about being able to use a 3.0 PCI-E GPU in motherboards with 2.0 slots the 3.0 will just not be enabled, my concern is I've also read the sandy bridge i7-2600k is completely in compatible with the 3.0 gpu's. So if you have any input or suggestions please let me know as soon as possible I'm gettin ready to order all these parts and I would appreciate some guidance, if I need to make a change please say so. Once again sorry for my lack of expertise.

prototype18

Distinguished
perfrel_1920.gif

No problem at all. Buy them .

Sooth1

Distinguished
Oct 11, 2010
Yes they are compatible. That motherboard is LGA 1155 btw (which is compatible). I would recommend an I5 3570k and a z77 motherboard for gaming though. Then you will have PCI-E 3.0 as well. Although it doesn't really make much of a difference currently. (2.0 vs 3.0)

broman

Honorable
Dec 2, 2012
Is my selection really relevant?

I didn't realize until after the fact of selecting them, that there was a problem with the CPU's compatibility with the GPU I was assuming since I could use a 3.0 card in a 2.0 slot it just will not be enabled it shouldnt be an issue with the processor but i suppose not?

If you don't have anything positive to say or any suggestions please keep your comments to yourself I really don't care to hear sarcasm or negative responses?

Thanks anways??