Sign in with
Your question

Having trouble with no picture on my build

Last response: in Systems
January 17, 2013 9:58:27 PM

This is my first build with these parts but I have built a few different machines in the past. I am at a loss of what is going on.
First, I have gone through these steps http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/261145-31-perform-ste...

I'm building with:
Asus P8Z77-V
Intel Core i5-3450
2 EVGA GeForce GT 610's
4 Kingston HyperX 4GB sticks
Rosewill RP600V2-S-SL 600W ATX12V
COOLER MASTER RC-692-KKN2 CM690 II

Here is the breakdown of what happened.

I build the machine and plugged the DVI into the first top video card. I turned the machine on and it started up fine, no odd colors nothing like that. The keyboard lit up as did the mouse. There was just no video. The monitor though recognized that it was plugged into something and came out of sleep mode, only to go back to being idle after awhile of no picture.

My next step was to then plug the dvi directly into the motherboard dvi slot. Same thing. Also the same when I plugged a VGA cable in.

I then unhooked the video cards and pulled all but one stick of ram. (a different stick from the one in slot A1) and repeated the same steps of plugging into the DVI and VGA of the motherboard. Same thing, no video.

I then disconnected all the SATA cables and tried again, still no video.

Next I plugged in the speaker to check for any beep codes. I got 5 beeps meaning a CPU problem. I plugged the CPU fan (which was running fine) into another power plug on the motherboard. (I went from CHA_FAN1 to CHA_FAN) and booted the machine up. This time no beep code.

I plugged in the VGA cable to the motherboard and now got a picture and was able to go into the bios.

Next I plugged back in all 4 sticks of RAM and one of the video cards and booted. Now I am getting no picture from any of the 4 spots (the 2 DVI ports on the video card, the DVI port on the motherboard, and the VGA port on the motherboard).