Help please (External graphics card on laptop)

Hello,
Im pretty new to PC gaming but i love it 1000x more than console gaming. About 4 months back i bought a Asus G55vw. The laptop is great and i love the gtx 660m because it fits most of needs, but not all of them. In Battlefield 3 my laptop runs at around 30 fps, which is OKAY. But i would it to be better. Apparently the G55's graphics card is soldered in so i cant replace it, bummer. So i was wondering if it would be possible to get some sort of adapter to plug into my laptop or whatever and then hook up a desktop graphics card. I want to put in a gtx 670 or higher into it. I get that there is something called an express card but i dont understand what it is. Any help would be amazing.

Thank you
14 answers Last reply
More about help external graphics card laptop
  1. sadly most laptops can't be upgraded. only the top end ones from Alienware for example have that option to change out the graphics. if you are a real gamer you will get a desktop, its cheaper and you can change parts out meaning you dont have to start over with a new system (expensive) but you can upgrade individual parts (sell your older video card and get the newest one for exmaple)
  2. Not going to happen my friend. You will have to go desktop if you want that. The PCI Express is the motherboard interface for the PCI express video Card.
  3. Damn, because i payed around 1300 for it and i just bought it a few months ago. And i don't i will be able to sell and i don't know how i would. I dont really have the money to buy an entire new desktop... wow this really sucks
  4. Yes, this is a common laptop regret, unfortunately the time to do this kind of research is before purchase :/.
  5. A little quick research you can use a ViDock (if your lappy has a express-card slot) for an external video card.

Also found that it's quite expensive.... Money would be better spent towards a custom gaming desktop. Sucks :/