Sign in with
Your question

Help please (External graphics card on laptop)

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
December 3, 2012 4:38:08 PM

Hello,
Im pretty new to PC gaming but i love it 1000x more than console gaming. About 4 months back i bought a Asus G55vw. The laptop is great and i love the gtx 660m because it fits most of needs, but not all of them. In Battlefield 3 my laptop runs at around 30 fps, which is OKAY. But i would it to be better. Apparently the G55's graphics card is soldered in so i cant replace it, bummer. So i was wondering if it would be possible to get some sort of adapter to plug into my laptop or whatever and then hook up a desktop graphics card. I want to put in a gtx 670 or higher into it. I get that there is something called an express card but i dont understand what it is. Any help would be amazing.

Thank you
a b U Graphics card
a b D Laptop
December 3, 2012 4:59:35 PM

sadly most laptops can't be upgraded. only the top end ones from Alienware for example have that option to change out the graphics. if you are a real gamer you will get a desktop, its cheaper and you can change parts out meaning you dont have to start over with a new system (expensive) but you can upgrade individual parts (sell your older video card and get the newest one for exmaple)
m
l
a b U Graphics card
December 3, 2012 5:00:43 PM

Not going to happen my friend. You will have to go desktop if you want that. The PCI Express is the motherboard interface for the PCI express video Card.
m
l
Related resources
December 3, 2012 5:24:17 PM

Damn, because i payed around 1300 for it and i just bought it a few months ago. And i don't i will be able to sell and i don't know how i would. I dont really have the money to buy an entire new desktop... wow this really sucks
m
l
a b U Graphics card
a b D Laptop
December 3, 2012 6:16:45 PM

Yes, this is a common laptop regret, unfortunately the time to do this kind of research is before purchase :/ .
m
l
December 3, 2012 6:23:47 PM