Temperature of graphics card

StephenNg

Honorable
Dec 4, 2012
Hello. Im not very good with computers because im just 17 and I hope somebody can help me with this:
I got a ATI Radeon HD 5670 tha runs on i7, temperature during normal usage(internet, video) are most of the time 58 C-64 C.
When playing video games, it can reached to about 80C.

Is is normal and safe?
How do you know when your graphic card or video card is damage?
Is there a way to cool it down?

Underage

Honorable
Dec 4, 2012
Hello

60C is a bit over normal but totally fine. reaching 80c under heavy usage like playing a videogame is also very normal.

your graphics card won't be damaged because of the 80c+ temperature unless you keep playing that videogame nonstop for too many hours in a row.

and make sure that your central unit is not put in a very warm place where cool air can't reach it.

Hope I helped, have a nice day!

Bean007

Distinguished
Feb 18, 2005

What brand is the card? Are you overclocking it? Have you dusted out your system lately?

StephenNg

Honorable
Dec 4, 2012
Thanks for all the advice.
My card is a AMD.
Dell recently change the graphic card and Im not sure they clean the dust.
What is overclocking. Can you explain it? How do you know when is it overclocking

Bean007

Distinguished
Feb 18, 2005

Yes but you shouldn't really have to. Well the entire inside of the computer should be blown out with compressed air that you can buy just about anywhere, WalMart or Target just to name a few. The dust settles in your computer and produces a blanket which keeps the heat trapped just like if would if you had put a blanket over yourself, the only thing is that for computers it's not good. You can look on YouTube at videos for Dusting your computer and get a good idea on what were talking about.