Any strategy to learn a network

confuseis

Distinguished
Mar 29, 2011
Hi all

I’m wondering does anyone have a particular routine or strategy for understanding a new network that is undocumented and you have no support. How do you get yourself up to speed in the absence of supervisor or training in finding out how the traffic flows around the network and figure out how the and interpret the data, demystify that mass of unlabelled machines and gazillion cables in the server rack etc.

e.g. what commands can I run, what applications can help, what to look for physically. This looks like it will take forever, I have some basic networking knowledge but Ive a tendancy to freeze and be overwhelmed in this situation, people expect you to know the network inside out after your first week.

Thanks for reading

I don't know where you just got a job at, but I feel sorry for you. I use a label gun and always label both ends of an ethernet run so I can find it easily later on. I also document that label in a log/journal and write down which room I can fine the cable ends in.

Every computer/device that has a static IP gets written to the journal along with the computer's/device's location and workgroup/domain name and computer name. For computers that get an address assigned via DHCP I just list the above info minus the IP address.

I also log all servers, their locations, and functions.

This not only makes it easy on myself months or years later, but if I ever have to train somebody or just decide to quit my job, the next person won't have such a tough time.

I at least hope they are paying you well. I know this isn't an answer, but you may want to take this into consideration for the person that will eventually replace you.

riser

Illustrious