NO DISPLAY (NEW PC BUILD)

InebriHATED

Honorable
Jan 19, 2013
Hey guys, Im new around here and new to the PC world. Well not BRAND new, Ive obviously been using them for quite awhile but this is my first time building one. Ive been a console gamer literally my whole life and felt its finally time to get into the PC side of it. Wanted to do a modest build for my first time out so I went with these components...

Gigabyte GA-z77x-d3h mobo
Intel i5-3570k cpu
Seagate Barracude 1TB hard drive
Corsair Vengance 8gb ram
Corsair Enthusiast Series TX650 power supply
MSI Geforce GTX 670 gpu
Asus DVD burner

So yesterday I assembled all of those parts into the Corsair Vengance Series C70 in military green. Took my time with the build, did it in my underwear and touched the case often as not to shock anything. Looked great when I was done and especially badass in that C70 case. It was the moment of truth, I powered it up and everything seemed to work but NO DISPLAY. So I did some research and tried eliminating possibilities. The video card had power, the fans were spinning, the little LEDs were on but when I removed the card I got a display. I suspect the video card is the problem, just looking for some confirmation from you guys.

When you say you don't get any display and then you remove your 670 and you get display, here's an important question: when you have the 670 in you have your monitor cable plugged into a video connector on your 670 and not on your motherboard right? If you have the cable plugged into the motherboard, and the 670 is installed, the BIOS will default to the card it's detecting in the PCI-e slot and display will come from the card not the motherboard. The board has Lucid Logic, but I think that only works from the OS with the cable in the motherboard.

So if this is the case, move the monitor cable to you graphics card and try to boot up. If that's a go, install your OS.

InebriHATED

Honorable
Jan 19, 2013