First time building pc, need advice

crahs8

Honorable
Jan 20, 2013
So the time has come when i am going to build my own gaming computer. This is the components i am going to use:

Disc Drive: LiteOn iHAS124
HDD: Western Digital HD Caviar Blue 1tb
RAM: Kingston HyperX Predator 2 x 8gb DDR3
GPU: Radeon hd 7870
Case: Coolermaster HAF X
CPU: Intel Core i7 3820
Motherboard: Asus sabertooth x79
Powersuply: OCZ PSU 700W ModXStream Pro

So as this is my first time building a computer i am not sure if i should by any additional fans or if my motherboard is overkill and so on. So any advice on installing my system or components i should change would be very helpful. :D

Yep. Bad motherboard and overkill CPU.

Try the i5 that amdradeon suggested and a Gigabyte z77x-ud3h or AsRock z77 Extreme 4.

Keep in mind, this is for gaming. The processor is, at most, 10% of the frames you're getting, and the i5 is MORE than powerful enough to max out any game. (A normal LGA 1155 i7 isn't any better, so don't waste your money there - it's just an i5 with hyperthreading.)

Why would you build a gaming computer and get a mid-range graphics card and a ridiculously expensive processor?

Along with the i5, grab a 7970; get the GHz edition if you don't know how to overclock.

Don't get 16GB of ram, as you will never use that much - get 2x4GB.

crahs8

Honorable
Jan 20, 2013
The reason for getting a new computer was that i have this crappy acer computer with a i5 650 dual core 3.2 ghz so me thinking it was the gpu that was bad bought a new one and installed it into my old computer. I found out that in areas with high amounts of players (Planet side 2, large bf3 servers) my framerate would drop signicantly. So my guess is that my cpu is the problem. Along with that i have 6gbs of ram and a terrible case that generates heat like no other.

crahs8

Honorable
Jan 20, 2013

I don't really have a max budget, but i want to keep it fairly cheap. Btw i live in Denmark where everything is more expensive.