Mandi329

Honorable
Jan 21, 2013
A friend is going to build my new computer but wants me to come prepared with a list of "what I want". I would love to do some gaming; I've heard good things about Skyrim and I watch movies but don't do any hardcore image/video editing. My major issue with my current computer is just chuggy slowness when I have numerous tabs open on Firefox and gaming is just impossible (I can run a game called Wurm on lowest settings and I have near constant lag).

Okay, so does this set-up look totally off? Suggestions are happily accepted. Also, what would be a good cooler and case to use? I'm sure I've forgotten several important parts so if you think of something, please let me know.
Be gentle with the techy terms ya'll, I'm a noob. :)
Thanks!

Things I think I might sorta like:

Intel Core i7-2700K
ASUS P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3 LGA 1155 Intel Z68 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard with UEFI BIOS
ZOTAC ZT-60101-10P GeForce GTX 680 2GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card
Seagate Barracuda HDD 1 TB SATA-600
Crucial m4 CT128M4SSD2 128GB SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) with Marvell Controller
Corsair Vengeance Series 32GB DDR3-1600 (PC3-12800) CL 10 Quad Channel Desktop Memory Kit (Four 8GB Memory Modules)

jakewat97

Distinguished
Dec 15, 2012
CPU is good but unnecessary if you see yourself as a tech noob, rather go for a 3570k or something.
Mobo is fine.
Graphics card, maybe choose another brand but nothing wrong with the one stated. only question. do you want to be playing on ultra on all games?
SSD, get a vertex4 or intel 520 instead. better performance.
32gb ram. way to much of an overkill.

last of all you need a psu around 650 - 750 watts.

I'm not 100% if this is a serious post as no one else has replied, but if it is, what is your budget?

EzioAs

Distinguished
@Jakewat97