Sign in with
Your question

Bought a Alienware Aurora ALX, Is this a good deal?

Last response: in Systems
January 21, 2013 11:14:29 PM

I bought a Aurora ALX for 1270 pounds ($2000)

Just got into PC Gaming, (Ex-Mac user) and I was considering attempting to build my own PC but I have no experience or knowledge so I didn't like the idea.

So for peace of mind, I went for the Dell Alienware so I could get warranty and a good system.

Here are the specs,

Alienware Aurora ALX Matte Black 875W Chassis,

Processor
Intel® Core™ i7-3820 (Four Core, 10MB Cache 3.60GHz)

Memory
8192MB (4x2GB) 1600MHz DDR3 Quad Channel

Video Card
2GB GDDR5 NVIDIA® GTX 680

Hard Drive
1TB SATA 6Gb/s (7200RPM) 32MB Cache

Microsoft Operating System
English Windows® 7 Home Premium (64 BIT)

Mouse
Alienware Optical Mouse
Keyboard
Alienware Multimedia Keyboard - UK/Irish (QWERTY)

Optical Devices
DVD+/-RW (Read/Write) 24x

Sound Cards
Integrated HDA 7.1 Dolby Digital capability

Standard Warranty
1 year Next Business Day Hardware Support included with your PC
Enhanced Service Packs
1 yr Next Day In-Home Hardware Support

What do you think?

I'm planning on using 3 1920x1080 monitors to play WoW, GW2 and maybe BF3.

Would it run okay? Any tips/advice is much appreciated
January 22, 2013 3:26:57 AM

I hate to say it, but that isn't a very good deal, buy us standards at least. I don't think that it would be that much better of a deal in England.
January 22, 2013 3:57:13 AM

Alienware overcharges and underperforms - that thing won't manage three monitor gaming very well, and yet it's got stupid wastes for single-monitor gaming.

My strong advice is to return it and buy from Falcon NW if you absolutely can't build one, but listen to this first: