Sign in with
Your question

CPU fan turns on for half a second, computer won't run

Last response: in Systems
January 22, 2013 12:08:47 AM

Hi, everyone.

As the title suggests, I'm having some technical problems. Basically, the CPU fan will run for a split second and shut off, while the computer will not even run at all. No LED lighting up on the motherboard. It will only do the fan-dying thing once per time I plug in the PSU (as in, when the PSU remains connected and I press the power button a second time, it does nothing). It peculiarly did this one time even when I pressed the power button a couple seconds after the PSU was disconnected. I just got the pieces today for this build and have spent all day building and troubleshooting the computer. This was my first build in a while, but I'm not a total noob, and I spent a long time reading manuals and preparing for the build. I was looking forward to it so much, so I'm feeling very disappointed. I would be very grateful if anyone could help, but first please read my build and what I've tried so far:

My build -

Case: Rosewill CHALLENGER Black Gaming ATX Mid Tower Computer Case, comes with Three Fans-1x Front Blue LED 120mm Fan, 1x Top 140mm Fan, 1x Rear 120mm Fan, option Fans-2x Side 120mm Fan

PSU: Rosewill CAPSTONE Series CAPSTONE-750 750W Continuous @ 50°C, 80 PLUS GOLD Certified, Single +12V Rail, ATX12V v2.31 / EPS12V v2.92, SLI Ready, CrossFire Ready, Active - PFC Power Supply - Retail

Motherboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4 LGA 1155 Intel Z77 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

CPU: Intel Core i7-3770k Ivy Bridge

GPU: Zotac Geforce GTX 570

Memory: G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600

Hard-drive: SAMSUNG Spinpoint F3 1TB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5"

Troubleshoots I have attempted-
-Reassembling CPU and its fan
-Trying my 2 sticks of dual memory in different slots (and only trying 1 stick)
-Unplugging and replugging all major power cables

Just don't know what to do.