Sign in with
Your question

Good system, but not happy with performance

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
December 7, 2012 6:16:09 AM

So I recently picked up an MSI GTX 660 Ti. I bought this in the hopes that I could play my games on the highest graphics settings and have no problem. But unfortunately that hasn't been the case. I have seen videos of my graphics cards running games that I have, for example Assassins Creed 3 and GTA 4, and they look like they are running very smooth. This is my set-up.

ASUS F2A85-M PRO FM2 MOTHERBOARD

G.SKILL Value Series 8GB 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 CL9S

AMD A10-5800K Trinity 3.8GHz (4.2GHz Turbo) Socket FM2 100W

MSI GTX 660 Ti OC

(And the hard drive that my games are installed on is a Toshiba running SATA 2)

The only issues I could think of (and I'm no expert) is either that my memory is running to slow at 1333, or my hard drive isn't fast enough. Any ideas??
a b Î Nvidia
December 7, 2012 6:28:51 AM

Check your CPU usage. It's most likely the culprit.
m
l
December 7, 2012 6:33:32 AM

Sunius said:
Check your CPU usage. It's most likely the culprit.

How do I check that, and also how would I fix that?
m
l
Related resources
a b Î Nvidia
December 7, 2012 6:36:26 AM

Lower, of course. Overclock the CPU to make it faster. But still, I'd check the usage first before making more assumptions. Make sure to check it while you're playing a game that lags, rather than while looking at the desktop.
m
l
December 7, 2012 6:46:18 AM

Sunius said:
Lower, of course. Overclock the CPU to make it faster. But still, I'd check the usage first before making more assumptions. Make sure to check it while you're playing a game that lags, rather than while looking at the desktop.

So while I was playing Assassins Creed 3 on the highest settings, my CPU usage shot up and stayed in between 80 and 90% and I was getting about 20 FPS.
m
l
a b Î Nvidia
December 7, 2012 6:50:56 AM