Sign in with
Your question

Monitors/GPU

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
December 7, 2012 10:41:01 AM

Okay so I have a unit, supposedly with a radeon 7870. At the moment under display adapters in the device manager only Inter(R) HD graphics is showing, which I'm assuming is some form of integrated GPU.

So you see the problem, the radeon is not showing up. I'm disabled so I cant check if the radeon is even there, but I ordered the unit from a wholly reliable site, so why wouldn't it be there?

At the moment I'm acting on faith as you can tell. So if it is there, why is it not showing up? My theory is that the monitor is plugged into the wrong port, would that be the likely scenario and account for the present issue? As such would it just be a case of switching where its plugged in? If not that, what could be the issue?

I'm fairly new to this, and my inability to really move to check is a right pain in the arse.

More about : monitors gpu

a b U Graphics card
December 7, 2012 11:21:53 AM

have you tried to install the ATI drivers?

do you have a separate video card in the computer?
December 7, 2012 11:28:35 AM

Yes to the first

No to the second, as far as I know. Just the Radeon 7870, and I assume the Intel(R) HD Graphics is built in somewhere else? On the motherboard or something?

Processor (CPU)
Intel® Core™i5 Quad Core Processor i5-3570 (3.4GHz) 6MB Cache

Memory (RAM)
8GB KINGSTON HYPER-X GENESIS DUAL-DDR3 1600MHz, X.M.P (2 x 4GB KIT)

Graphics Card
2GB AMD RADEON™ HD7870 - DVI,HDMI,2 mDP - DX® 11, Eyefinity 4 Capable
a b U Graphics card
December 7, 2012 11:32:55 AM

So you installed the drivers but not the card? :) 
a c 203 U Graphics card
December 7, 2012 11:35:40 AM