Sign in with
Your question

Which cheap low-profile card? PSU only 250W. Newbie here.

Tags:
  • Graphics Cards
  • Monitors
  • Graphics
  • Product
Last response: in Graphics & Displays
December 8, 2012 9:36:59 AM

I just want to enable dual monitors (2nd monitor extended) on my old Dell Inspiron 530s, so need a graphics card that will have two monitor ports (VGA and DVI). There won't be any gaming done on the computer at all, I just want to be able to extend the displays, for example, a web page on one monitor, and the SONY Acid Music Studio program on the other monitor. I've never bought a graphics card before, so my head is spinning from searching through all the different types online. I would really, really appreciate if someone with experience could suggest a new card for me to buy. Main things are I only have the 250W power supply and it's a slim tower, so the card has to be the low profile (or whatever it's called) with a short bracket. I'm relatively new to computer "building;" the only thing I've ever replaced/installed on computers is the RAM, so that's why I need some help here. And here is the info that was requested in one of the forum stickies:

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: ASAP(!); I need it before Christmas (I know, I put it off too long already). BUDGET RANGE: under $100 (hopefully cheaper than that, actually, but I still want it to be good quality)

USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: (no gaming being done) most important is just running dual/extended monitors; if it makes any difference, the computer will occasionally be using software called "Sony Acid Music Studio 9." Other than those two things, it will only be used for internet browsing and word processing.

CURRENT GPU AND POWER SUPPLY: on-board/integrated Intel Graphics Media Accelerator 3100 and Dell 250W PSU.

OTHER RELEVANT SYSTEM SPECS: CPU is Intel Core 2 Duo E7300, motherboard is Dell OEM RY007/G33M02, RAM is 2GB DDR2 right now (but will be 4GB soon).