Is this a decent computer for gaming and working?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Atlantaaa

Honorable
Jan 23, 2013
I currently don't have a computer to use which sucks, and I'm looking to possibly build a computer just so I can prevent my laptop from being destroyed anymore and only use it when I'm out and about. I love to game, I'm honestly not worried about having it at super high quality, maybe around 60 FPS all the time is good enough. I also would like to have all my settings on high, but medium is still a minimum and fine if I'm forced to choose that setting. Here is the current build, and I'd like to know if there's anything wrong (e.g. CPU doesn't fit motherboard) or if I could get another part that's possibly better and cheaper.

P.S I'm a noob at this type of stuff..

Motherboard: ASUS M5A97 LE R2.0 AM3+ ($85)

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition ($95) or another processor could be suggested (if anyone would be so kind) since I'm pretty skeptical considering I've never had an AMD processor.

Hard Drive: Seagate Barracuda 1TB (7200 RPM, 64MB Cache) ($80)

RAM: Corsair Vengeance 8GB (DDR3 1600Mhz) ($48)

Video Card: EVGA GeForce GTX 650 Ti (2GB) ($160) I do like this card and it's pretty good from the reviews I've read.
Or the AMD FD8120FRGUBOX FX-8120 ($150) I'm not sure which one is better.

Optical Drive: Samsung Internal DVD Writer ($18)

Case: Thermaltake V3 Black Edition Mid Tower ($40)

Power Supply: Corsair CX Series 430 Watt ($25)

Total Cost: = $551 which is actually a good price considering I'm on a budget.

If anyone could please provide feedback that'd be great! Thanks.

Phenoms still do really well , and are only cheap because they are end of line .
You mention an FX 8120 later in your post . If you can afford it then the latest model FX 6300 for $140 is an excellent choice . It runs cooler and games better than the 8120
AMD processors are just as good quality as any intel . And the price is right too