Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Some helpful advice/revisions for my first build please

Last response: in Systems
January 24, 2013 3:45:55 AM

Hello I am planning on building my first computer, which I am really excited about. Now, I made this list on pcparts picker and I was wondering is there anything I could change/revise/downgrade/upgrade/swap, etc. I will take all advice, and even criticism so feel free to post. This is my first build so if I messed something up and it's obvious please tell.

Also, I am overclocking, I will use this cpu for gaming mostly and school, but no media related items. The games I play are minecraft, Bf3, far cry 3. If there is any other info you want me to add then please just say so.
-Thanks for helping me!
Build:

Base Total: $1272.46
Mail-in Rebates: -$65.00
Shipping: $5.67
Total: $1213.13

Do I really need a soundcard? If I do what is a good one to get? Also if you have any good deals like substitutes, etc., that can save me money please post them! If you have any advice please post, I would love feedback on how to improve it!

Thank you AMD Radeon changed it to the Corsair 400R ATX MidTower,and there was a combo with the psu I was getting so I got a $10.00 mail-in-rebate than $10.00 combo too! :) 

I also went with the OCZ Vertex 4 128GB 2.5" Solid State Disk.

I went with the Asus VS229H-P 21.5" Monitor also

New Total:

Base Total: $1238.17
Mail-in Rebates: -$45.00
Shipping: $5.67
Total: $1198.8

Best solution

January 24, 2013 3:54:16 AM

cant argue with your build :)  awesome, but you paid to much on case.. corsair 300R/400R will be much more appropriate
Related resources
January 24, 2013 4:00:34 AM

You don't need a sound card, no.

For that price, I'd get a Vertex 4 SSD. It'll be faster and just as reliable, if not more reliable. (People hate on OCZ, but they got their act together when they changed to in-house controllers rather than sandforce controllers.)