Sign in with
Your question

HD 7750 using DX9 even though it's DX10/11 compatible?

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
December 9, 2012 5:48:04 AM

Hi guys!!
I recently installed Sapphire HD 7750 GDDR5 1GB graphic card in my system.
This is my first graphic card so obviously I'm new to some things.

I was just browsing through the CCC settings, getting familiar with it.
I noticed a strange(?) discrepancy.
I'm using Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit which has DX11 installed by default.
However CCC reports that I've Direct3D version 9.14.10.0926

Does this mean the graphic card is using DirectX 9?
If so, what can be done so that the card starts using DX10/11?
a b U Graphics card
December 9, 2012 5:57:37 AM

Try playing a game with Direct X 11 support like Blacklight retribution.

It may also be CC being wrong
Hit your windows key and type dxdiag (this page also has intructions near the top http://windows.microsoft.com/is-IS/windows7/Diagnosing-... )
On the first tab that pop up it should say the Direct x version near the bottom
Something like this
m
l
December 9, 2012 6:08:46 AM

stickmansam said:
Try playing a game with Direct X 11 support like Blacklight retribution.

It may also be CC being wrong
Hit your windows key and type dxdiag (this page also has intructions near the top http://windows.microsoft.com/is-IS/windows7/Diagnosing-... )
On the first tab that pop up it should say the Direct x version near the bottom
Something like this
http://bakouny.webs.com/Kinect/DirectX_Diagnostic_Tool.JPG

The dxdiag dialog box displays that DirectX 11 is installed.
But that doesn't mean the graphic card itself is also using DX 11, does it?
I mean, you can install the DX 11 even if your graphic card doesn't support it...
My previous on board graphics certainly didn't!!
m
l
a b U Graphics card
December 9, 2012 6:40:52 AM

Hmm you also try aome benchmark tools like furmakr or 3dmark and see if yoi can run direct x 11 mode