Advice On Dual CPU, Mobo, & Ram Upgrade For Video Editing Workstation

Tags:
  • New Build
  • Video Editing
  • Systems
  • Product
Last response: in Systems
January 24, 2013 2:56:21 PM

Hello All. I am hoping you can give me some advice on what to do (or buy) to improve my video editing system. I am a bit of novice when it comes to the technical/hardware end of things and I’m having some issues with my current system. Here are my answers to the “how to ask for advice” sticky:
Approximate Purchase Date: Within the next 30 days... but can wait if there is a reason to.

Budget Range: Around $5000.00

System Usage: High end video editing and animation.

Are you buying a monitor: No, I have two HD monitors.

Parts to Upgrade: Mobo, Memory, and CPU.

Do you need to buy OS: No (Currently Own Windows 8, & 7 Ultimate)

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Newegg, Amazon, Buy.com, Overstock

Parts Preferences: Since (I think) I need a dual CPU mobo, these seem to be my only two options. Unless anybody knows of any better choices, or new ones coming out worth waiting for.

ASUS Z9PE-D8 WS Dual LGA 2011 Intel C602 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 SSI EEB Intel Motherboard

OR

EVGA Classified SR-X 270-SE-W888-KR LGA 2011 Intel C606 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 HPTX Intel Motherboard

MEMORY: But I am willing to change if there is a better option.
CORSAIR Vengeance 64GB (8 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 Desktop Memory Model CMZ64GX3M8A1600C9

CPU: Am also willing to change if there is a better option.
Intel Xeon E5-2670 Sandy Bridge-EP 2.6GHz (3.3GHz Turbo Boost) LGA 2011 115W 8-Core Server Processor BX80621E52670

Overclocking: No

SLI or Crossfire: No I currently have 1
Quadro k5000 but I am not opposed to changing this.

CURRENT SYSTEM SPECS:
PROCESSOR: Intel Core i7 X 980

MOTHERBOARD: Gigabyte G1.Assassin

RAM: CORSAIR DOMINATOR 12GB (3 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model CMP12GX3M3A1600C9

GRAPHICS CARD: Quadro k5000