Build check on a gaming PC

shuff

Honorable
Jan 23, 2013
Greetings everyone,

I’m looking to build a good gaming PC that I can use to play my favorite games on the highest settings with little to no lag at all. I’ve been playing on a 15-inch MacBook Pro for the last few years, and I’ve been gaming on Apple laptops for almost ten years before that. I love Apple to death, but their computers aren’t the best for gaming (can’t upgrade them, most games aren’t supported on them, etc.) so I’ve decided to get a gaming PC of my own to supplement my other computing systems.
The budget that I’m working with is $1300 – but I can to go to $1500 if needed. I plan on getting the operating system separately from my computer and I’ll be playing on a 22-inch 720p television that I use to play on my Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3. I’m working with a limited amount of space in my room, which is why I play on such a (relatively) small TV and why I’ve opted for a mid-tower instead of a full tower.

I know that building the PC yourself is the cheapest option, but I’m not willing to go through the hassle of putting it together myself, so I’m ordering it from a vendor and having them build it instead. I’ve done quite a bit of research in order to understand which components to get – looking up reviews on numerous sites (including this one)— and I’ve also talked with my father about what components I should be focusing my investments (he’s a software engineer). But the array of options available is quite overwhelming, and it’s difficult for me to know if what I’m getting is really going to be suitable to my needs, and if everything is going to come together properly.

Here’s a list of games that I play (or plan on playing) for reference for the kinds of punishment I’ll be subjecting the system to:

• Civilization V
• Left 4 Dead 2
• Borderlands 2
• The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim
• Mass Effect 3
• StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty
• Diablo III
• World of WarCraft: Mists of Pandaria