Rate this gaming build?

Status
Not open for further replies.

vElectrixx

Distinguished
Jan 23, 2013
I am a huge computer novice. After countless days of new recommendations, how is this build?

CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K 3.4GHz Quad-Core Processor
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO 82.9 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler
Motherboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4 ATX LGA1155 Motherboard 
RAM : Patriot Viper 3 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory
HDD: Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive
GPU: Sapphire AMD Radeon HD 7970 Ghz Edition 3gb
Case: Cooler Master HAF 912 ATX Mid Tower Case
 Power Supply: XFX 650W 80 PLUS Bronze Certified ATX12V / EPS12V
Optical Drive: Lite-On iHAS124-04 DVD/CD Writer
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 (OEM) (64-bit)
System Fans: Corsair Air Series SP120 High Performance Edition 120mm

I think it's all set, after all recommendations people have told me about what to change. Rate this out of 10 please. Is this worth the $1100 I'll be spending on it if it goes well?

Solution
If you're going to run the OS off a mechanical drive, get a WD Black, not Blue, otherwise get an SSD and use the Blue for data storage. +1 to e_X, get a case with USB 3.0 (Antec 302 or whatever one appeals to you). I"d also consider a fan controller for an $1100 build. Maybe consider a Corsair or CM PSU too.

1-10, I'll go 6.5

scottiemedic

Distinguished
If you're going to run the OS off a mechanical drive, get a WD Black, not Blue, otherwise get an SSD and use the Blue for data storage. +1 to e_X, get a case with USB 3.0 (Antec 302 or whatever one appeals to you). I"d also consider a fan controller for an $1100 build. Maybe consider a Corsair or CM PSU too.

1-10, I'll go 6.5

Solution

vElectrixx

Distinguished
Jan 23, 2013

I chose the black at first, but I was recommended to change it. Back to black I go then.