Closed Solved

Need help on buying a wireless gaming router

Hello, and thanks for stopping by to read my thread. I am seeking to buy a wireless gaming router. I have little to no knowledge of deciding which wireless router is good. I am aware that wireless-n is the latest and supposedly fastest router. Correct me if I am wrong. I been looking around and doing some research and found these wireless gaming router. Any input is appreciated. Thank you again for reading and taking your time to help.

Budget: $100 before rebate
Website Preferred: Amazon, Newegg

What I found out so far...

D-Link DGL-4500 Extreme-N Selectable Dual-Band Gaming Router
Amazon Price: $99.99 (as of 01/16/2012)

Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router WNDR3700
Amazon Price: $97.94 (as of 01/16/2012)

D-Link DIR-655 Extreme-N Gigabit Wireless Router
Amazon Price: $79.00 (as of 01/16/2012)

Medialink - Wireless N Router - 802.11n - 150 Mbps - 2.4 Ghz - NEW Design w/ Internal Antenna
Amazon Price: $49.99 (as of 01/16/2012)

Linksys E1200 Wireless-N Router
Amazon Price: $49.97 (as of 01/16/2012)

*Source found at http://www.squidoo.com/best-gaming-router
7 answers Last reply Best Answer
More about need buying wireless gaming router
  1. Best answer
    I have an older dlink DGL-4100 gaming router. If the DGL-4500 is just as reliable as the DGL-4100, I'd recommend it.
  2. Right now I have a Cisco-Linksys WRT54GS Wireless-G Broadband Router with SpeedBooster with 2 PC, 2 Laptop, 2 Playbook, and 3 iPod Touch connected to it. Only one of the PC uses wired while the rest is wireless. I play FPS and RTS games online and its not the fastest but I do lag and stutter here and there. I did set my router to allow full potent for my PC whenever I game.
    The D-Link DGL-4500 does have some good reviews to it. Is there any other ones that is good to this one?
  3. Get a router which supports custom firmware.
    Something like the Linksys WRT54GL.