Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Should I buy a Nvidia card for video editing?

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
December 12, 2012 2:48:50 PM

I am not a professional video editor. In fact, I am a student. Anyway, I just want a video card that can help me render my video faster. As far as I know, most Video Editing programs support CUDA :ouch:  :ouch:  :ouch:  ( I am using Corel Videostudio) . That makes me go for a Nvidia card, which is more expensive, more power consuming,... .I don't have a lot of money. So going for Nvida is my only choice, right?
a b U Graphics card
December 12, 2012 3:26:28 PM

well if you know nvidia supports the program you are learning and possibly will be using to make a living off from then you should stick with them
Score
December 12, 2012 3:45:17 PM

Don't forget the more CPU cores/threads available, the faster the render. And consider using your RAM (if you have 16-32 GB) for the target location, using a free tool like DataRAM gives you the absolute fastest write speeds.
Score
Related resources
a b U Graphics card
December 12, 2012 4:04:09 PM

CUDA performance on gaming nVidia cards is a joke now that its artificially limited. If you want CUDA, you are pretty much limited to an nVidia Quaddro. Supposedly Corel is moving toward full OpenCL support, which means that AMD Radeon cards would be a nice option when they incorporate OpenCL.

That being said, you aren't left with too many good options in this case as Quaddro cards are expensive and there isn't OpenCL support yet to use an AMD Radeon with Corel.

So, that basically leaves you with upgrading your CPU. If you are on an older socket, that may mean upgrading your motherboard and memory as well.

Could you list your computer specifications so that a more educated recommendation can be made? Please include brands and model numbers for the following (CPU, GPU, RAM, Motherboard, PSU, HDD)
Score
December 13, 2012 4:57:38 AM

iknowhowtofixit said: