Sign in with
Your question

New computer running HORRIBLE

Last response: in Systems
January 28, 2013 3:41:43 AM

So I just finished building my new computer, and for the first day it ran great. 400+fps on most games, everything was super fast and I was very happy. Now, this is my first build in a LONG time, and for the sake of argument, I'm a complete noob. So one day I decide to try starcraft 2 on ultra. Again, everything was fine and the all of a sudden everything starting chugging...HARD. Frame rate dropped to 30-50, things got super blocky etc. Ever since then its gone downhill. Takes 3+min to shutdown, all games run like ***, random freezes etc. All drivers and BIOS are updated (as far as I know)...and that's really as far as my knowledge on how to make this thing work the way it should goes. My specs are:

i5 3570k CPU
EVGA GTX680 GPU
4 sticks 4g G.Skill sniper RAM
ASRock z77 OC Formula mobo
1050W 80+gold Cooler Master Power Supply

As far as I can tell this thing should be able to tear apart anything I throw at it, so I'm at a loss. Any and all information will be put to good use! Thanks in advance!
January 28, 2013 3:48:28 AM

try reseating all your components. Some time strange things can happen with a new build. Just to confirm... you haven't messed around with the bios, installed new programs inc updates or, overclocked anything have you? If so retrace your steps. Let us know of your progress, good luck!
m
l
January 28, 2013 4:11:24 AM

I've updated everything actually. Ran windows update until there were no more updates, updated drivers, and as for the bios, the only thing i did was update the bios. And overclocking, no...not yet. Reseating the components, what would this do exactly?
m
l
Related resources
January 28, 2013 4:32:01 AM

anon002 said: