Put together my build the other day, Doesn't recognize GFX card

Zed_Spooge

Honorable
Nov 11, 2012
Ok, so, what the heck. I recently put together my personal rig, i7 3770k, 16gb ram, gtx 670, corsair C70, 750b hdd, asrock extreme4 1155, and corsair CX750M. UHHHHHHHHHHHH WUT. First I installed linux. now I have windows 7 pro 64bit installed on it. and it doesn't recognize my graphics card? I haven't played any games on it yet so I didn't notice, but i'll be playing borderlands 2 tomorrow so I'd like to get this installed. sorry if i'm being a huge noob here, but, does anything OTHER than 2 6pin power connectors need to be hooked up? and if not any particular power connectors? I just installed the first 6 pins i could find that would fit into my 670 and my cx750m (modular). I am 90% sure they say "PCI-E" on the side, and they are actually 6+2 pins, i just zip tied the 2pins back. I've already got all the spare wires tucked away in a drawer, would be really sad if i had to go rummage through them again. Anyway, when I use some standard routes to look for what gfx card i have installed, it just says like standarc AVC adapter; nvidia or something of the sorts. anyway to see like exact make and model and brand? like in bios? oh and btw, very proud of my 3770k, pulled off a super stable 4.2ghz overclock @stock voltage with the OEM cooler. idling at about 35C and haven't seen it above 40c (haven't done gaming yet though, but when I do i'll def turn it down to stock/4.0ghz) any help? have a just fucked up royally with the power connectors or is something wrong? also I haven't installed any drivers yet as I don't have internet, so everythings still running in like 1080x720 on my 23.6" monitor ;c

Zed_Spooge

Honorable
Nov 11, 2012
What it says under computer>system properties>device manager>display adapters>Standard VGA Graphics Adapter>General info on that is:

Device type: Display Adapters
Manufacturer: (on linux this said nVidia corp or something) (Standard Display Types)