Looking to build a multi-computer system

Bark80

Honorable
Jan 28, 2013
Hi all. I'm new here and I was looking to spend a few days getting some ideas. I'm a pro photographer and I am looking to build a computer system up for the work I do most. I went through the digital camera section of this forum and posted some thoughts to pay my way forward some.

Basically we go out and shoot youth sports. The parents come by our tent and sit down to look at the images I take. If they find things they like then we print them out on the spot for them.

What I have now is one PC and 3 laptops that are on a network. We download the images to the PC and then copy them to a public folder.

We have been running for about a year and a half and we were working on our business model last year. This year we want to focus on gear.

I was wondering if this is possible and affordable.

I am looking to build a single enclosure that is capable of allowing 6-10 monitors to show anything they want without interfering with eachother. I would like a keyboard and mouse by every monitor. I prefer to use the standing desktop monitors because they are easier to see in the sun versus a laptop monitor. I would like all the viewing stations to be able to print from where they are.

About storage we shoot about 40-80 gigs a weekend and may need to increase that by 2 in the next year as well.

As far a RAM I am not sure about RAM. But basically it is fairly low. All I need from a computer is the ability to run a program like Irfan View or windows photo viewer. It also needs to run a small program to allow customers to crop and print. I do not need video running. I don't need gaming capabilities. I do need mid to high grade video quality.

I would like there to be one station that is our work station. This one will need full computing capabilities.

Any thoughts from you good folks out there?

bjaminnyc

Distinguished
Jun 17, 2011