Sign in with
Your question

No signal to monitor?

Last response: in Systems
January 29, 2013 3:20:14 PM

Hi everyone, I posted this question in another area (Im also a noob to toms hardware) I have a first build assembled and ran into a roadblock. this is what we have:
motherboard- asus m5a97 le r2.0
processor- amd phenom IIx4 black edition
hard drive- western digital caviar blue 500gb sata
graphics- evga geforce gtx 650 1gb
optical drive- lg dvdrw 24x
Ram- kingston hyperx blu 4gb ddr3 1333mhz
power supply- ultra LPS 750 watt

all in a coolermaster 430 elite mid tower

when i power the system on, all lights and fans work, there are no system error beeps through the onboard speaker, yet cannot get a signal to the monitor or led tv. weve tried using the dvi-i to vga adaptor an ran a vga cable without luck so I purchased a mini-hdmi(which is the other connection on the vid card) to hdmi cable also no luck. we have all driver disks and I purchased windows 8. Im way over budget and Im way in over my head...any ideas?

More about : signal monitor

January 29, 2013 3:25:00 PM

The bad thing about not having onboard video is that you can't troubleshoot your video card. Do you have a backup GPU somehwhere? Maybe borrow one from a friend to see if its the GPU that isn't working? Better yet, if you have another computer try putting the 650 in another system and see if it works there.
m
l
Related resources
January 29, 2013 3:42:52 PM

blake1243 said:
The bad thing about not having onboard video is that you can't troubleshoot your video card. Do you have a backup GPU somehwhere? Maybe borrow one from a friend to see if its the GPU that isn't working? Better yet, if you have another computer try putting the 650 in another system and see if it works there.