Sign in with
Your question

1x projector or 3x 32" TVs or 3x 23" monitors for gaming? (low budget)

Last response: in Systems
January 29, 2013 6:22:41 PM

Hi, I'm completely new to building a gaming system with more than a single monitor, I've been watching some videos on Youtube and find it very interesting. But I don't know what would be better, a projector, 3x 42" TVs, or 3x 23" monitors and I only have a little money so I need a low budget solution. Please help me plan.

(I'm in Asia and at my place electronic stuff are more pricey, also please excuse my bad English.)

Purposes:
- Gaming: FPS (Battlefield 3), Space Sim (EVE Online, triple boxing), Air Combat Sim, Racing, Strategy, MMORPG...
- Watching movies (not 3D, 3D monitors/projectors are too expensive)
- Graphics editing + coding: Flash with ActionScript 3, Photoshop... (but this is optional since I don't usually work at home)

What I already have:
- MB: Z77 MPower
- CPU: i7 3770K 3.5Ghz @4.2Ghz (stock fan 76C, no liquid cooling)
- GPU: ASUS GTX 670 DC2T (72C, makes weird sound at system boot up)
- RAM: Corsair 8GB/2133 Dominator Platinum
- SSD: OCZ 128GB Vertex 4
- PSU: Corsair GS 600W
- Monitor: U2312HM 23"
- Money: $2000 ~ $2200

What I'm planning to do:
- The GPU makes weird sound so I'm afraid it's going to fail soon as some negative feedback stated on Neweggs, so I'm going to sell it for $475 (bought at $535, 1 month old). Then I will buy a MSI GTX 680 Lightning for $725. ($1750 left)
- Buy another MSI GTX 680 Lightning for $725 so I can have enough power to run 3x1080p. ($1025 left)
- Because it's two 680, I will also need to upgrade my PSU: sell GS 600W for $55 (bought at $87.5, 5 months old), buy a Corsair HX 1050W for $210. ($870 left)
- Buy 2 more U2312HM's for $200 each. ($470 left)
- Buy a Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker for $350. ($120 left, or maybe $200 left)
- If it's $200 left then I will go for a H100i liquid CPU cooler and OC to 4.6Ghz for hopefully somewhat frame rate improvement.

Options: