Sign in with
Your question
Solved

How do I get Ethernet to Work on my pc?

Last response: in Systems
January 29, 2013 8:38:34 PM

hi all, i built myself a pc and tried to stick in my ethernet cable... but it won't work! by won't work my pc will not detect it! i am a noob at this and and am kind of new, can somoen help me? please ask if you need more information. :) 

More about : ethernet work

January 29, 2013 8:39:49 PM

install the drivers

what kind of motherboard do you have?
m
l
a b B Homebuilt system
January 29, 2013 8:40:37 PM

OWNHAY said:
hi all, i built myself a pc and tried to stick in my ethernet cable... but it won't work! by won't work my pc will not detect it! i am a noob at this and and am kind of new, can somoen help me? please ask if you need more information. :) 

hey own....look in your mb box there should be a driver cd. install the mb chipset driver first then reboot. then on the cd install the audio and network drivers. you may have to reboot again for the realtek drivers to install.
m
l
Related resources
January 29, 2013 8:42:53 PM

The motherboard i have is an Asus Maximus V Extreme... i already updated the chipset and installed some intel network driver thing but it still won't recognize.. i got the software from asus.
m
l
January 29, 2013 8:45:59 PM

I'm running windows 7 professional N 64 bit ;) 
m
l

Best solution

January 29, 2013 8:47:53 PM

go here

http://www.asus.com/ROG/MAXIMUS_V_EXTREME/#support_Down...

under "Lan" download both the intel and gigabit downloads, run them on that machine

use a usb stick, external hard drive, or burn them to a dvd
January 29, 2013 8:49:21 PM

forgive me for dumb question, is the device on the other end of the cable turned on/connected?
m
l
January 29, 2013 8:51:25 PM

ok it's downloading, it should be done in a few minutes. should i test it after installing the drivers?
m
l
a b B Homebuilt system
January 29, 2013 8:52:02 PM

cable moden/router...yes...
m
l
January 29, 2013 8:52:44 PM

boju said: